elorin presents Volker Thomsen of St. Lawrence College with the Champion Award at the seventh annual Kingston Technology Council Awards


Source: elorin


6 February 2007


KINGSTON, ON – The Kingston Technology Council held its seventh annual Awards Gala on 3 February with a gathering of 250 guests at Kingston’s Four Points Sheraton.


elorin was proud sponsor of the 2007 Champion Award. Shelagh McDonald, Executive Director of elorin, presented the award to Volker Thomsen, President & CEO of St. Lawrence College, for his role in promoting the growth of knowledge-based enterprises in the Eastern Lake Ontario region.


Mr. Thomsen was recognized for being the driving force behind an innovative revamping of Ontario’s apprenticeship program, and for propelling St. Lawrence College to the front ranks of Ontario’s community college system. Also highlighted was his dedication to sustainable energy alternatives, made real through construction of wind and solar technologies on St. Lawrence campuses, the establishment of the $400 million Wolfe Island wind park, and the formation of the World Wind Energy Institute, a global network of educators devoted to student exchanges and training in renewable and sustainable energies. One of his best known projects, Energy House, a learning environment and alternative energy technology demonstrator at St. Lawrence College, was a nominee for this year’s KTC Innovative Program Award.


The black-tie event also demonstrated a new commitment by the council to broaden its networking activities from Kingston proper to the entire Eastern Ontario region. Among the award winners was PrintFleet Inc. of Gananoque, which received the Commercial Achievement Award for its success in developing and marketing print management and assessment software. In addition to nominees from Kingston, candidates in the three juried awards categories included companies from Napanee, Brockville and Prince Edward County.


“It is always rewarding to be able to honour the innovators in our community, and it was especially gratifying this year to extend that recognition across the region,” says Gord MacDougall, Chair of the Board of the KTC. “As the people who work in these knowledge-based sectors will tell you, there’s precious little time to stop and celebrate success. That’s the role that the KTC is proud to play. Our awards are about making those invisible achievements visible. It’s about showing our communities the incredible potential for technological innovation that exists in this region.”


About the award winners:


DAS Software of Kingston was awarded the Emerging Technology Award for its Squash Point-of-Sale software for small and medium sized retailers. DAS has clients across North America, including Canadian university campus retailers, a Colorado specialty grocery business, and a San Francisco facilities support manager.


PrintFleet Inc. of Gananoque, which develops print management and assessment software, received the Commercial Achievement Award. Its “vendor-neutral” software enables dealers and distributors in the imaging industry across five continents to remotely monitor and manage printing equipment and supplies.


The Atherton Entrepreneurship Award at Queen’s University was recognized with the Innovative Program Award. Established through the generosity of Professor David Atherton, this award offers up to $34,000 in seed funding to promising technologies developed through student-faculty research collaborations.


John Esford, of Kingston’s Holy Cross Catholic Secondary School, was awarded the Dick Hopkins Innovation in Education Award. A former audiovisual production professional, Mr. Esford was honoured for encouraging  innovative uses of technology by students for projects such as yearbooks, dramatic productions and sporting events, for exploring social issues, and for assisting community nonprofit organizations. In addition to the award, Mr. Esford’s school received a cheque for $1,000, to be applied to programs related to innovation using technology. Alan Hesketh of the Limestone School Board received honourable mention for his technology-based iniatives at the elementary school level, including a Lego robotics program.


Approximately 250 guests, including judges from technology-based enterprises in Ottawa, Toronto and Guelph, attended this year’s event.